In about 12 hours, my plane takes off and I leave the U.S. for at least a year. In the wake of this election, I’m surprised to find myself with mixed feelings about this. On the one hand, I’m glad to be escaping a country where 51% of the people seem to be either ignorant or downright malicious in their beliefs.

On the other hand, nearly everyone I talked to yesterday said something like “Wanna move to Canada?” And while, yes, I do want to move to Canada, or to any country where I could live and maybe someday raise kids in a society that values peace and intelligence, what will happen to the U.S. if all the progressives leave? The right will gain an even greater majority, poor people who don’t have the means to escape will be screwed over even more, and the world’s largest nuclear arsenal will be in the hands of a bunch of trigger-happy, messianic nuts.

We should stay and fight, for the sake of the planet. And yet, today I leave.

