Did you know that it is possible to spend two weeks in France and not go to a single museum? I didn’t either, but that’s what happened. We did a lot of walking and went to more churches than I can possibly remember, but no museums. I wouldn’t have minded going to a few, and I especially wanted to see the Pompidou Centre again, but it’s closed on Tuesdays and today is when we decided to go.

So we walked to the Sorbonne, past the Palais de Luxembourg and went to Saint-Sulpice, then took a long bus ride to La Defence, which was simultaneously hideous and compelling. Basically, they put everything modern that doesn’t belong in the historic city center there, and the result is this weird futuristic dystopia.

We had a fabulous final French dinner at La Sofa, which Terry found on gayparis.com and turned out to be a lesbian hangout. It had really cool decor, a nice atmosphere, and amazing food.

And that was that. I’m packed and ready to move to Russia tomorrow!

