So, it’s Thanksgiving, though it doesn’t really feel like it. I didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving last year either — I had taken the holiday weekend as an opportunity to go to Toronto to visit friends and the day just sort of passed without my noticing.

Today it’s a little different. I’m sitting in my apartment in St. Petersburg, observing the workmen putting the finishing touches on, amusing myself by surfing the web, and realizing that I’m not going to get too many e-mails or see many blog updates because it’s Thanksgiving and all the Shit Americans are eating turkey and watching football.

I had wanted to have a Thanksgiving/housewarming party this weekend, but it looks like we’ll be putting together IKEA furniture, and having the housewarming a few weeks from now instead. Too bad. I actually like Thanksgiving a lot. It seems kind of un-American in a way: eating home-cooked food and being grateful rather than eating McDonalds and taking everything for granted.

I do try to reflect each year on what I’m thankful for. This year I am thankful for:

1. Having the opportunity to come to St. Petersburg for a year, at little personal expense. Thanks, Aunt Kelly (and multinational capitalism, yikes)!

2. Good friends who keep in touch no matter where I am on the globe, even when I am a crappy correspondent. A special shout-out to Hugh, Klaas, Terry, Brian, Monica, Catia, Kevin, and Denis.

3. Anand. (Aww, so cheesy.)

4. Fate, for giving me decent brains, decent health, and a lot of good luck.

5. The internet, for its usefulness in meeting people and keeping in touch with them, and for wacky flash animation.

6. All the awesome activists who are going to hold the U.S. together while I’m gone. Don’t all run off to Canada, guys!

