Anand was supposed to arrive this afternoon. The phone rang at 9:00 this morning, and it was Anand’s mom, telling me that he had called her and was stuck at JFK in New York. It was 1:00 a.m. in New Jersey when she called, and I know she gets up at 4:00 every morning to do yoga, so she must have stayed up really late in order to call me in (my) morning, or been woken up in the middle of the night!

Anand himself called a little while later, sounding very sad! His flight out of Washington was late, and he and several others missed their connection to London, and the next available flight isn’t until 6:00 p.m. today (New York time). Then, British Airways only flies to St. Petersburg three times a week, so he’ll have to spend another whole day in London to catch the next flight here on Sunday. Absurd!

I was so looking forward to his arrival today. And although Christmas isn’t that important to me, there’s something melancholic about spending it alone in a foreign country.

I’m trying to have a zen attitude about it. OK, he’ll be here in two more days. Tonight’s the Christmas party at the American Consulate, and I’ve invited a few friends, so I have something to do on Christmas Eve. And, the big snowstorm which made a mess of southern Finland on Wednesday has arrived here in milder form, so it’s lovely and snowy out.

Stupid airlines.

