The word from the language school is that the guys at the IT company liked Tuesday’s lesson very much. Hooray! I’ve got a good one planned for tomorrow, too.

I feel less confident about how the lesson with the eight-year-old went. He’s a super cute, super sweet kid. His mom was’t the posh New Russian I expected at all. They live in a typical dingy Soviet-era high rise, in a comfortable small apartment. The mom didn’t seem too pushy. She seemed quite nice, and obviously is just a very loving mother who wants her son to have as many advantages as she can provide, hence, private English lessons from age 5 onward. She was in and out of the room during the lesson, and every time she walked into the room, the boy’s attention wandered. Although for future lessons his mom won’t be there, only his babysitter, for our first lesson together she understandably wanted to be there to meet me. So I think future lessons will be easier.

We have some textbooks, but they’re kind of silly. The mom wants us to do more speaking than reading and writing, because he has English class at school in which they do a lot of drilling, but she wants him to be able to converse and to have good pronunciation. I think speaking and understanding is a big challenge for him. So I have to think of ways to make it fun. I’m thinking we should start out the lessons with a few minutes of reading, where I do most of the reading so that he gets to listen and absorb my lovely American accent. Then maybe we’ll do some playing and drawing, and talk about what he’s doing. He did a lot of that with his last teacher and apparently liked it. Then we’ll spend the last few minutes of the lesson writing a note to his mom so he can tell her what he did, and list the new words that came up, so that he and his mom can practice them between lessons. We’ll see how it goes.

