The real issue that I was getting at in my last post was this: Pretty shortly I’m going to have to decide whether I want to work at the kindergarten five days a week (provided they’ve liked me as well), or whether I’ll keep working at the “grown-up” language school, with my various students all over the city. Ideally, I can work it out to do both, but if not, I’m going to appear flaky to one party or the other, and possibly burn a bridge. So it’s kind of important that my decision be the right one.

Today has been a lovely relaxing day, I didn’t work at all. I slept in, re-organized my room, did yoga, made “Indian” food with Russian ingredients, worked on editing a paper for a friend, and exchanged an abnormal number of SMSs.

Yesterday during my drunken Russian lesson I was trying to say “send a text message” and reflexively made a wiggling motion with my thumb over curled fingers, and Sergey laughed and said “Posilat’ SMS?” Yup, exactly. So now there’s an international hand signal for it.

Texting isn’t as popular in the US as it is in Europe, though I personally did my best to increase its use back home. I think one of the reasons for its popularity here is that it’s so much cheaper than a mobile phone call. In the US, we usually pay a flat fee for a certain number of minutes of air time per month that far exceeds the amount of time a human being ought to spend on the phone. Here you pre-pay and when you make a call the money drips out of your account with each second you talk. I need to keep that in mind — last night I actually called a friend rather than SMS-ing and was indirectly admonished for costing them money.

