What was the name of that Reader’s Digest monthly feature in which people write in with the funny things their kids say? Well, consider this blog the Russian version.

At the end of the day yesterday I was zipping up Vera’s jacket and noticed she was kind of looking down my shirt. We teachers usually wear a classroom key around our necks, so I thought she was looking at it. “What’s there?” Vera asked. “My key,” I said. “Нет, сиськи!” she said. No, tits! Then she asked “What’s your husband’s name?” As in, speaking of your tits, what’s your husband’s name? I said, “I don’t have a husband.” “Why not?” she said.

I can only imagine what she’s overheard her parents doing. Actually, it didn’t surprise me all that much. On the first day last autumn, when I was tucking her in for her nap, she was pretending to breastfeed her doll. And she’s got this little boyfriend, Gleb, and the two of them are always engaging in PDA. I must say that in every other respect she’s a really normal, sweet, clever and well-behaved girl, not one to worry about. She’s just really into imitating her parents’ behavior, I think.

