So there’s a boy I’ve been teaching since I started working at the kindergarten last year. He’s half German and half Russian, a very beautiful child, and incredibly smart. He’s also kind of wicked. He was always stubborn, but lately he’s been saying some disturbing things.

He’d been really bad one day and when his mom came to pick him up, I asked her to come in for a talk. Among his offenses was that he had hit some other children. His mom said “You can’t hit people. They don’t let such children go to school.” Without a trace of remorse, he said, “I like hitting people.”

Last week he brought a toy chain saw for show-and-tell. When I asked him to say what it was for, he said, “It’s for cutting down a tree, or somebody’s house.”

And today, we were talking about his family’s upcoming move back to Germany. I said that a friend of mine was moving to the same city soon. He said, “I’m going to shoot him.”

His parents seem like really nice people; I don’t know where he gets it from. I hope this is just a phase he’s going through, because with his good looks, intelligence, and charm, he could wind up as some kind of evil dictator or something.

