You are currently browsing the daily archive for 28 June 2006.

Hi folks. So, I didn’t die from my strep throat experience, despite what my long absence may have led you to believe. I still think I could have used a proper antibiotic rather than an antibiotic spray, though; it took a long time to get completely better.

I’m finished with the kindergarten forever and ever! And at some point, now that my contract is over and I have all my money, I’m going to write about all the crappy things about it. I really loved the kids, and I really like teaching English, but the administration of that place is evil.

For the summer I’m working at a new language school that seems really nice so far. I’m teaching adults, which is a nice change of pace, and my schedule RULES! No more getting up at 6 a.m. every day. In general I have lessons from 11:00-1:30, and then from 7 p.m. to 9:30. I don’t mind getting home so late since I can sleep in, and I get a big chunk of time in the afternoon to run errands and do important things like study Swedish! Plus, since Kostia is also a language teacher with corporate clients, our schedules are more similar now. When I was working 9-5 and he was working most evenings, we hardly got to spend any waking hours together!

So, next week we’ll find out if our residence permits/student visas for Sweden have been approved. If they are (and we don’t anticipate any problems), in mid-August we will move to the small town of Falun to attend the unknown university of Dalarna. Why would we want to do such a thing, you ask? Because the programs are interesting (I’ll be studying European Political Sociology, Kostia linguistics), education is free (though we have to pay our own living expenses), and it’s a great opportunity to live in Sweden and see if it’s really the utopia we both think it is. So wish us luck on the residence permits.

The White Nights are great. The weather’s been really nice lately, though last week was pretty hot (30C) and Kostia almost died, but I didn’t mind too much. Aunt Kelly was back in town for a week and my Uncle Dennis came to run a half-marathon and to do some sightseeing. So I did some touristy stuff, which is good to do every once in awhile to be reminded of some of the facets of St. Petersburg you can forget when just living day-to-day life. Plus, Aunt Kelly was staying in a nice hotel and I got to take PROPER SHOWERS with HOT WATER. They say ours will be back on today, after three weeks, but I’m not holding my breath.

About This Blog

I'm an American who started blogging when I moved to Russia in 2004. Eventually I moved to Sweden, where life is pleasant but uneventful, and stopped blogging for lack of interesting things to say. And then I joined Facebook, which further destroyed any motivation for blogging. Maybe someday I'll start blogging again, but for now, this blog is dormant, an archive of The Russia Years: 2004-2008.

Blog Stats

  • 128,085 hits
Expat Women—Helping Women Living Overseas
Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930