For some reason, I thought it would be a good idea to put some of the money I earned in Russia in my US bank account rather than just change it all into Swedish kronor directly. I thought it was better not to have so much cash, etc.

When we got here the exchange rate was about 7.2 kronor to the dollar. It hit a high of 7.4 in early October, at which point I should have taken all my money out of the bank. But I waited. And the dollar started to sink. “It’s OK,” I thought. “It will go back up again.” But no, it got worse and worse. And I kept thinking, “should I take money out now or wait and see what happens?” I waited. This is what happened: the rate is currently 6.88. Aaaaaaaaah!

We can live another month or two on the cash we have here, but at some point we’re going to have to use the money in the account, and I hope the dollar gets better by then. Do any of you know anything about economics and how likely that is to happen?

