It annoys me when people complain about the heat all summer long and cold all winter long. I know, it’s just human nature to complain. But at some point I decided I should only complain about one or the other, rather than being a year-round whiner. At the time I made this decision, I was living in Washington, DC, which has relatively short and snowless winters, and long, torrid summers. I decided to embrace the hot weather that was a fact of life and only be whiny in January.

Then fate brought me to 60 degrees north latitude, where it usually starts to snow in October and doesn’t stop until sometime in April. After two long St. Petersburg winters, by the end of each of which I was nearly insane from cold and cabin fever and wearing heavy sweaters all the time, my blood had finally thickened a bit and I got used to the idea that winter lasts for six months.

Falun, Sweden, is at the same latitude as St. Petersburg, and, from everything I read, tends to have similar temperature fluctuations. So I was completely mentally prepared for a nice long winter. Only this year has been different, both here and in Northwest Russia. Winter didn’t really settle in until mid-January, and now it seems to be over.

I’m having a hard time reconciling this in my head. After all the mental preparation for a long winter, I feel somehow cheated. It doesn’t seem right that the sun is shining brightly and it’s +5 Celsius.

Kostia keeps telling me that this kind of weather is also normal for this part of the world, and that I just picked an unlucky two winters to live in St. Petersburg. Maybe so, but I fear climate change. Well, there’s nothing I can do about it right now, so I guess I should go outside and enjoy the sunshine.

