I was formulating a post about the Eurovision Song Contest in my mind, then I read Neeka’s blog and she already said a lot of what I wanted to say – about the politics of it, not the part about voting for Verka Serdyuchka 14 times. I definitely didn’t do that, even though I think s/he is hilarious. I voted for Germany three times, but didn’t get any confirmation messages, so I don’t know if my vote was counted at all. Sweden is mourning The Ark’s terrible result, even if hardly anyone in this country will admit to actually watching the thing.

This was my third Eurovision viewing experience and I have to say that the quality of the songs was a lot better this year than in 2005 and 2006. I think Lordi‘s win last year was a wake-up call to competitors that regurgitated MTV songs are no longer interesting. Though Russia‘s manufactured girl band did come in third, so I don’t know.

The fact that Serbia won- with its androgynous lead singer, singing in something other than English – has temporarily restored my faith in humanity.

And the little clips in between songs about Finland, the host country, were really clever and hilarious. Can’t seem to find them anywhere on the web, but I’ll keep looking.