So I’m in Gothenburg, on a mission to drop off my Russian visa application, spend as little money as possible, and go right back to Falun, which is the opposite of what I would like to do in this lovely city. I’ll have to come back next week to pick up the visa, so maybe I can persuade myself and Kostia that a little tourism is worth it, even if we have just enough money to get back to St. Petersburg and get ourselves set up there. That’s what credit cards are for, right? :-)

I’ve never been here before unless you count a couple hours in the bus station the first time I visited Scandinavia, when I took the bus from Stockholm to Copenhagen. When I stepped out of the train station today I liked it instantly. They have trams, for one thing. Also, you don’t have to walk too far from the train station before feeling like you’re in a place where people actually live. By comparison, downtown Stockholm feels like there isn’t anything but tourists and the tourist industry for miles around.

I was less than happy that the only hostel I could book on short notice was pretty far from both the train station and the Russian consulate, but now I’m happy for the excuse to walk across town. And the hostel itself is quite nice, very inexpensive, and what’s more, has free wireless internet. Hurrah!