You are currently browsing the daily archive for 15 August 2007.

I’ve translated another of Kostia’s stories. Well, non-fiction really. The original can be found here.

MAMA
by A. Kostia
translated from the Russian by Megan Case

Mama was born a year and a half after the war, in a hastily-built hut on a dirt foundation. Her first childhood memory is of a lazy fat cockroach crawling in the half-darkness on the log wall.

Read the rest of this entry »

I’ve been taking a lot of pictures lately. Here are some random shots. More to come.

View from our stairwell. They’re furiously finishing a new kindergarten and just installed all this new playground equipment:

dscn2885.jpg

Scouts getting on the bus for an excursion:

dscn2876.jpg

This truck is always parked in the same place and I see it every morning from the bus on the way to the metro. Somehow seeing these sonorous, evocative words “Golden Toast” in my native language is comforting and makes my morning more cheerful: 

dscn2877.jpg

This psychologist comes highly recommended, apparently:

dscn2873.jpg

Public service posters. 1) A clean city starts from your window. 2) Choose Education: Choose the Future. 3) In a clean city – healthy children!

dscn2870.jpg

Underage drinking anyone?

dscn2869.jpg

I imagine the owners of this microbrewery were looking for a play on the word “pub”, and just pawed through their dictionary till they found one, without checking with any English speakers.

About This Blog

I'm an American who started blogging when I moved to Russia in 2004. Eventually I moved to Sweden, where life is pleasant but uneventful, and stopped blogging for lack of interesting things to say. And then I joined Facebook, which further destroyed any motivation for blogging. Maybe someday I'll start blogging again, but for now, this blog is dormant, an archive of The Russia Years: 2004-2008.

Blog Stats

  • 127,824 hits
Expat Women—Helping Women Living Overseas
Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031