Since getting back from my trip a week ago I haven’t done anything noteworthy. I’ve been meeting new students (including one corporate group at 8 a.m., ugh, though the students themselves are nice), I bought new shoes yesterday, and I seem to be coming down with another cold, which isn’t much of a surprise, since Kostia’s been ill (which he almost never is) and the chilly rainy weather has been a bit of a shock to my system after two weeks of real summer weather in the U.S.

The only other thing of any interest whatsoever is that I made another recipe from Gastronom magazine, which turned out much better than expected – penne with beet sauce. Its a chunky sauce which, in addition to beets, contains walnuts, garlic, and a lot of olive oil. It’s topped with a cheese called “brynza”, which is a bit like feta. I really liked it. Kostia was not as taken with it as I was, but he seemed to like it well enough. In addition to being tasty, it’s nutritious (I used whole wheat penne) and vegetarian.

Gastronom’s website doesn’t list this recipe, but I’ve scanned it in for your viewing pleasure. (click to enlarge)

penne-beet-sauce.jpg

If you don’t speak Russian and are actually interested in making this, leave a comment and maybe I’ll post a translation…