I’ve been trying to decide how I want to be involved and who I want to support in the US presidential election. I’m a registered Green Party member, but after the 2000 election I decided that the best way to build the party was from the ground up, meaning campaigning for local and state offices rather than the presidency, unless there happened to be a superstar candidate who actually stood a chance of winning. However, I’ve been a little hesitant to publicly support a Democrat, since the Democratic party has been a big disappointment for a long time, and although it’s on the left side of the American political spectrum, it’s still too far to the right for me on many issues.

Nevertheless, I’ve made a decision. I’m going to support Barack Obama. I actually feel that he represents something to vote for, instead of just being the lesser evil, which is all the Democrats have offered us recently. I like the fact that he opposed the Iraq war from the beginning, his stances on most of the other issues are more or less tolerable, and I feel that maybe there’s some hope for my homeland if we could actually put an African-American in the White House.

I’m going to contribute money to the Obama campaign, but to soothe my conscience I’ll send an equal amount to the campaign of a Green candidate who’s running for state office and has a chance of winning. I’m still researching who that might be, but I’ll keep you posted.

obama.jpg

