You are currently browsing the daily archive for 27 April 2008.

Alfapet is a Swedish Scrabble-like game. Being a Scrabble enthusiast, when I saw Alfapet cheap at Ă–verskottsbolaget (kind of like Big Lots in the US), I had to buy it. I also figured I could persuade Kostia to play it with me, since it’s a bit different from Scrabble and we could start from scratch with the rules. The one and only time we played Scrabble in English, we got into a huge fight because the Russian version of Scrabble, Erudit, has very different rules, and Kostia didn’t like it when I insisted on the English Scrabble rules.

We decided we were allowed to use dictionaries to help us find and verify words before playing them. We only got about halfway through a game last night, because Kostia’s other issue with Scrabble is that he finds games terribly boring. Still, I’m determined we’ll finish this game…

About This Blog

I'm an American who started blogging when I moved to Russia in 2004. Eventually I moved to Sweden, where life is pleasant but uneventful, and stopped blogging for lack of interesting things to say. And then I joined Facebook, which further destroyed any motivation for blogging. Maybe someday I'll start blogging again, but for now, this blog is dormant, an archive of The Russia Years: 2004-2008.

Blog Stats

  • 127,778 hits
Expat Women—Helping Women Living Overseas
Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930