Alfapet is a Swedish Scrabble-like game. Being a Scrabble enthusiast, when I saw Alfapet cheap at Överskottsbolaget (kind of like Big Lots in the US), I had to buy it. I also figured I could persuade Kostia to play it with me, since it’s a bit different from Scrabble and we could start from scratch with the rules. The one and only time we played Scrabble in English, we got into a huge fight because the Russian version of Scrabble, Erudit, has very different rules, and Kostia didn’t like it when I insisted on the English Scrabble rules.

We decided we were allowed to use dictionaries to help us find and verify words before playing them. We only got about halfway through a game last night, because Kostia’s other issue with Scrabble is that he finds games terribly boring. Still, I’m determined we’ll finish this game…