I thought I would be way too cranky if I set my alarm for 3 a.m. to watch the Biden-Palin debate, but when the cat woke me up at 3:45, I decided to watch the second half. Sarah Palin may not have the facts and she’s definitely got the wrong policy positions, but damn, is she a skilled debater. She knows how to artfully duck a question and use her time to say what she wants to say. And since those undecided voters in the heartland don’t really pay attention to the answers themselves, but how the person talks, she did as well as she could possibly be expected to. That said, Joe Biden did well too. He really did follow the tips in this Slate piece: be affable, don’t patronize, take her seriously even when what she says doesn’t merit it. Every time Palin gave an answer that was nothing but folksy platitudes, he responded with clear facts. I haven’t really been a Biden fan but now I’m pretty glad that he’s on the ticket.

Edit: Oh yeah! Something I just saw in a friend’s Gmail status reminded me: What is up with Republicans and the inability to pronounce the word “nuclear”?