I think I’ve figured out why I haven’t been into blogging lately. I’ve mentioned some of the reasons before: life is pretty uneventful in small-town Sweden, I’m quite busy right now, and the readership seems to be a lot less interested in hearing about life in Sweden than they are about life in Russia. But the other big reason is that Facebook seems to pretty much do everything (and more) that I hoped blogging would do when I started, which was to let friends and relatives all over the world know what I was up to without filling their inbox with possibly-unwanted mass e-mails. Facebook is an improvement on this because it is much more interactive and ostensibly more private.

I’m not going to quit blogging. This has been a major project of mine for the past four and a half years and I don’t want to just abandon it. But I may just keep the personal stuff on Facebook and use this blog for my political rants and travel stories. Feel free to friend me on Facebook, though I’ll warn you that my (somewhat flexible) criterion for friending someone there is that I’ve actually had some kind of friendly dialogue with the person, whether online or in reality.